30x30, A

30×30 (18 months)

Thirty. It’s a scary word for women in their twenties.

30 is when everything starts to fall apart.

You’re almost 30? Isn’t your biological clock ticking?

Yikes, 30?! Better get a good eye cream, you’re going to need it.

I’m not terrified of 30. I’m not necessarily excited about it, but aging is a part of life that I’m more than willing to look forward to. Why? Because aging is a luxury. One that I plan on enjoying.

In making sure that I’m enjoying life to the fullest, I’ve stumbled upon a kind-of, sort-of bucket list for us 20-somethings. The 30 by 30. Thirty items that you’d like to accomplish by your thirtieth birthday. As today is my half birthday, I’ve only got 18 months until I get to check a new age box, so I guess I better get started.

  1. Run a 10k (from start to finish).
  2. Visit at least one national park.
  3. Reduce my personal debt (student loans) by 25%.
  4. Learn to roast a whole chicken (and use all the leftover parts!).
  5. Brush up on my French. I was once fairly fluent, and I’d like to have that back.
  6. Donate my hair.
  7. Go an entire month without buying anything.
  8. Host an actual dinner party.
  9. Buy a house that my husband and I both can agree on.
  10. Become a proficient photographer.
  11. Research and begin continuing education for my profession.
  12. Take a trip with my girlfriends.
  13. Learn how to change the oil in my car.
  14. Create my wedding album.
  15. Finish Rory Gilmore’s reading list.
  16. Figure out a regular fitness plan/routine that actually works for me.
  17. Reduce my dependence on caffeine.
  18. Road trip with my husband to a major sporting event.
  19. Firmly establish a morning and evening routine.
  20. Knit a blanket.
  21. Reconnect with a friend who I’ve lost touch with.
  22. Get a bikini wax to see what the fuss is about.
  23. Update my wardrobe with quality pieces. Donate what is no longer worn. Ruthlessly slash my shoe collection to make way for others.
  24. Find a cause I am truly passionate about in my community. Donate time, effort and money to something deeply important.
  25. Replace our terrible dining room table.
  26. Re-evaluate our retirement plan and savings. Ensure we’re making good decisions and investments.
  27. Beat my husband at Risk.
  28. Earn a commendation for my work at my place of employment.
  29. Invest in an original art piece.
  30. Grow my own vegetable garden (and create my own compost for it).

You may have noticed some pretty major stuff missing from this list. I’m not aiming for any weight loss goals. I’m not convinced I need to get promoted. I’m not focused on babies. Sorry Mom.

It’s not that I don’t want babies. Or to be skinnier. Or even that I wouldn’t accept a promotion that I’m offered. It’s not even that I’m opposed to all these things before 30. It’s that I’m not putting a timeline on that process. I’m not going to create unrealistic and unattainable goals for myself. These goals have an overall theme of making a happier and healthier lifestyle for long term success. Is everything on here essential to that overall goal? Probably not. Is it stuff that I find to be interesting and important? Absolutely.

That being said… Voila! This is the stuff I’m going to be focused on for the next 18 months. None of this will be exceptionally easy, but I think it’s pretty important to have goals and to make those goals challenging enough to matter.

As I complete a goal, or start working toward completing a goal, I’m going to write about it. As that happens, I’ll update this post with the successes or failures I’ve encountered… as soon as I learn to link things.

-A

Leave a Reply

